UiTM Kedah was officiated on 1st October 1997 by YB Tun Daim Zainuddin, the Finance Minister. It started its first operation in November 1997 with 162 students and 25 administrative staff. In consistent with the government’s objective and aspiration to develop the skills of Bumiputra in various fields, the university functions as a catalyst in developing the economic and education of the locals specifically in the state of Kedah and northern area.  The establishment of this campus is based on the main plan which considers the maximum capacity of 7000 students.

The campus spreads across a 350 acre ground in Mukim Bujang (between Semeling and Merbok), which is approximately 14 kilometers from Sungai Petani and was developed based on the approval of the 6th Malaysian Budget Plan with an amount of RM38.4 million.

Courses Offered
The campus started off in November 1997 with 4 programmes at Diploma levels : 
• Diploma in Accountancy
• Diploma in Public Administration
• Diploma in Business Studies
• Diploma in Banking Studies

Today, UiTM Kedah offers both Diploma and Degree courses across 7 faculties
• Faculty of Administrative Science and Policy Studies
• Faculty of Accounting
• Faculty of Art and Design
• Faculty of Computer and Mathematical Sciences
• Faculty of Business Management
• Faculty of Information Management
• Faculty of Law